h1

Roasted Brussel Sprouts: Try them, and be thankful!

November 25, 2008

IMG_7924.JPG
IMG_7875.JPG

I love brussel sprouts. This is as surprising to me as it may be to brussel-sprout haters out there. 

My first encounter with sprouts came under the worst possible circumstances: served as airline cuisine. Slimy, smelly and downright repulsive, they not only fouled my taste buds, they also fouled the air in the cabin. Those brussel sprouts were filthy little heads of cabbage, and I decided they might be the one vegetable that this vegetable lover loathed.

Enter the husband’s cooking (again). Under his excellent watch, foul little brussel sprouts are made delicious. Roasted to toasty golden perfection, they are savory, satisfying little bites of veg. They even have a subtle sweetness akin to popcorn. And much like popcorn, I eat them by the handful.

I admit, I’m all about the sides… and at Thanksgiving, sides are king. I suggest you add a little bit golden green to your groaning sideboard this Thursday in the form of roasted brussel sprouts. Try them. I think even the skeptical will agree: They are, indeed, something to be thankful for!

IMG_7891.JPG

IMG_7900.JPG

And now, the husband’s take…

As my wife stated, she’s about the sides. And I can’t blame her. On this day of turkey, you can see why the sides are bigger players then on most days. As a result, I’m giving you a quick, easy and delicious recipe for the day — roasted brussel sprouts. 

This is one of our family’s staple. We make this about twice a week during the fall and winter. And, as I’ve converted several people myself, I’m convinced this is the way to make even the biggest hater of brussel sprouts reconsider. We tend to think they smell, not like boiling cabbage, but popcorn. 

Have a Happy Thanksgiving! If you are not in the US, it’s a great holiday to celebrate what you have been so lucky to receive this year. So I wish you Happy Thanksgiving as well! 

IMG_7864.JPG
IMG_7945.JPG

Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Ingredients
1 lb. brussel sprouts
3 tbsp. olive oil
salt

Directions
1. Slice the brussel sprouts in half through the stem. Trim off any rough part of the stems and pull off any bad (brown or with holes) leaves. This can be done hours in advance. 

2. Preheat the oven to 400F and turn on the convection feature. If your oven doesn’t have this feature, then preheat to 425F. 

3. Toss the prepared sprouts in olive oil. 

4. Heat a large, oven-safe pan over hight heat and coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil. Once the oil is shimmering, add the brussel sprouts to the pan. Work quickly to make sure the cut side is down. This should cause a sizzle.

5. Liberally salt the sprouts. Keep the pan on the stove over high heat until the sprouts begin to brown on the hottest parts of the pan. 

6. Move the pan to the oven. Check about 10 min into the cooking. Flip the sprouts over. They should be very dark brown on the bottom. Cook for another 10 min or until all the sprouts are completely golden. 

Note: If you are doing a very large batch or don’t have an oven safe pan, I recommend using a cookie sheet instead. Simply use two burners of the stove, and place the sheet over medium high heat. Spray the pan with a vegetable oil spray. Add the sprouts cut side down and then move to the oven. Takes about 20 min per side.

10 comments

  1. Thanks for this recipe, and the always-awesome photos. We love brussels sprouts in the fall. They need to go thru a frost to be sweet – a benefit of the northern climes. We do a roast of them like this with some herbs and finely grated carrots tossed in. A little sweet and a lotta color. Roasting makes all veggies better… consider the cauliflower! Useless – unless roasted or pureed! Give thanks indeed.


  2. These are really good! I tried them for dinner, i love Brussel Sprouts and this recipe is great.


  3. This is the only way I can stand to eat Brussels sprouts. They definitely sweeten up in the roasting process, and the salt helps to balance in the end.


  4. Either you stole from me or we’re on the same wavelength again ;) http://dcist.com/2008/11/21/thanksgiving_eating_in_baconbalsami.php


  5. Hi, I was from grouprecipes link to here, ‘cos your sui mai recipe was quite impressed to me!! That was perfect recipe and beautiful pictures! I was wondering there is no recent post from you so come here to check it! This blog is super! I love your photos. Many thanks, I will come to check again.
    Sagami


  6. I agree, roasted is the way to go if you’re going to eat Brussels sprouts. Though I still can’t get everyone in my family to eat them. Maybe I should make them more often. :P


  7. Another testimonial from a former brussel sprout hater! These are terrific.


  8. Brussel Sprouts are great and healthy for you! Be sure to review restaurants at http://tinyurl.com/26okadh !!


  9. […] harvest. For those of you who cringe at the thought of Brussel sprouts, do yourself a favor and try this recipe. It forever changed our minds about Brussel sprouts. You can also try this recipe, because […]


  10. Wow delicious! They taste so good it feels like I shouldn’t be eating them!! Thank you, thank you!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

