h1

The Morning Strain

October 5, 2006

MHCStrainer.jpgWednesday is a great day for foodies. It’s food section day. Heck, there is even a great blog, Wednesday Chef, that does a fun face off between these various papers. So, in an effort to help you out, I picked out three that I particularly enjoyed.

The first is from the New York Times about cheese making and the use of caves. It is fascinating to hear their take on the benefits of caves and from learning from old school European cheesemakers. You can find the story here.

The second is from the Washington Post about greens other than spinach. I am always looking for new ways to change up recipes and this article gave me some thoughts as local restaurants and  a cooking school discuss what they are replacing spinach with on the menu. I hope that you can find a useful replacement in these low spinach times here.

The final is from the San Francisco Chronicle. They are celebrating 20 years of the food section and their best recipes. It’s fascinating to see timeline collections of recipes. It shows to me how food is fashionable and changes over time. You can find this great list here.

Note: These sights may require you to sign up. I personally dislike it, but do it to keep myself ahead of the food news. I apologize in advance if they are blocking you out.

Leave a Reply

