h1

Resistance is futile: Dill pancakes

October 9, 2006

IMG_1876.JPG

IMG_1880.JPG

Pancakes for dinner. Some folks swoon at the idea — especially those 10 and under. Personally, I prefer something a bit more savory. If I were forced to eat breakfast for dinner, I would have said, “I’ll take eggs, thank you very much.”

My husband is incredibly fond of pancakes, however. (Yes, he’d eat them for dinner — maple syrup and all. And he’d probably follow that up with pancake dessert.) He’s converted me to pancakes at breakfast time, and now he’s trying to add them to the menu at dinner, too. He’s persistent, I give him that much.

Will he convert me?

Well, I’m sorry to say that I folded like a flunkee scout’s pup tent.

Being wily, my husband heeded my concerns about sweet for dinner and concocted a savory pancake. And hearing my story about preferring eggs, he topped aforementioned pancake with a poached egg and doused it with that champion of sauces, hollandaise. It was delicious.

So now I’m eating pancakes for dinner. And you will be, too, if you try this dill pancake recipe. There’s nothing quite like a delicate, bready pancake laced with white pepper and dill, dripping with that magical sauce that only yolk and hollandaise can form when mingled. It’s enough to make you evangelical about pancakes!


Backgrounder

IMG_1834.JPGIMG_1835.JPGIMG_1838.JPGIMG_1844.JPGIMG_1845.JPGIMG_1847.JPGIMG_1843.JPGIMG_1850.JPGIMG_1853.JPGIMG_1855.JPGIMG_1857.JPGIMG_1862.JPGIMG_1863.JPGIMG_1864.JPGIMG_1871.JPGYes, I checked my status this morning. I’m still 13% pancakes. While I’m a dedicated maple syrup and sweet-eats consumer, pancakes also have a savory side. This recipe demonstrates that great potential. Here, I make pancakes savory by swapping out a bit of flour for cornmeal, making the batter a little more viscous, and adding both Worcestershire sauce and dill. (And of course, forgoing maple syrup as topping.)

The goal is to make a savory-pancake platform to carry a creamy sauce from both a poached egg and delicious hollandaise. I think you could serve this on top of a bed of greens or as a starter, or even as a full dish for bunch, with a side of your favorite sausage. This dish has potential to be mulitfuctional, and I hope you will test it in various culinary circumstances and report back.

Finally, regarding the hollandaise, I didn’t supply a recipe. I enjoy the buttery sauce, but I haven’t made it enough times to highlight a particular recipe or to have my own version. So I’ve attached some links to a few versions that I think will serve you well. Also, I didn’t talk about poaching an egg. I think it’s a good post for down the road, but I’d suggest googling if you need help — you’ll find a lot of good lessons.

Hollandaise links:
Good Eat’s Hollandaise
Tyler Florence’s Hollandaise
Marcuss Samuelson’s Pine Nut Hollandaise
Gourmet Sleuth’s History of Hollandaise
Dill Pancakes with Poached Egg and Hollandaise

Yield: 4 pancakes

Prep time:15 min

Cook time: 15 min

Pancake Ingredients

4 large eggs (poached)

Wet:

1 cup buttermillk

1 large egg

3 tbsp. butter (melted)

3 tbsp. fresh dill (chopped)

1 tbsp. sugar

2 tsp. Worchestershire sauce

Dry:

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup cornmeal

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. white pepper

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tbsp. butter

Directions:

1. Whisk the dry ingredients together in a large bowl; whisk the the wet ingredients together in a smaller bowl.

2. Pour the wet ingredients on top of the dry, and mix until all of the dry stuff is wet and there are no large lumps. Do not overmix.

3. In a non-stick pan over medium heat, melt a tablespoon of butter. Swirl to coat the pan.

4. Once the butter has bubbled and gives off a subtle nutty aroma, add about 1/4 of the batter for each pancake. (I cooked them two at a time.)

5. Cook for 4 min. or until the underside is lightly brown. Flip and cook for another 3 min.

(NOTE: Because the batter contains cornmeal and has not been overmixed, the pancakes are going to be slightly delicate when flipped. So use caution when turning them.)

6. Place finished pancakes on a plate and cover with a clean towel. Keep warm in oven.

7. Wipe the pan of any debris and return to the heat. Add the other tablespoon of butter and repeat cooking of pancakes.

8. Once pancake is plated, add the poached egg, and top with about 2 tablespoons of hollandaise. Garnish with some fresh chopped dill. Enjoy!

8 comments

  1. Well, I would eat them for dinner too, and have in the past, but now I have a husband who thinks breakfast food should only be eaten at breakfast, and a son who often asks me “Why can’t we have pancakes for dinner?”

    ahhh….the tug and the pull of it all

    I really love your site and will stop back often to check it out. Great photos, great writing and a man who cooks. ‘Nuf said


  2. Mmmm! Nice idea to put fresh dill in the pancakes.

    Like you, I am not really a “pancakes for dinner” sort of person either. But I will eat crepes! Especially if they are made with buckwheat….

    -Elizabeth

    P.S. Just in case you’d like to try them, here is our recipe for buckwheat crepes:
    http://etherwork.net/recipes/griddlecakes.html#buckwheat


  3. Wow! I’m not the biggest pancake fan, but these look great. We’ll have to give them a try. Oh, and thanks for adding me to your blogroll.


  4. Thanks all of you.

    The crepes are a great idea. I think I still have a minor phobia of them from when I started to cook. There is something about having faith in that thin batter and learning to just leave it alone. I’ll definately try them though.


  5. […] – The recipes I found this week that tempted my palate so much that I now plan on making them: Flourless Bittersweet Chocolate Cake from A Mingling of Tastes, Fall Colors Vegetable Stew (great way to use those CSA veggies!) from Albion Cooks, Ham and Caramelized Onion Omelets from The Columbus Dispatch, Balsamic Onions from blog from OUR kitchen, Apple Cider Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting from Coconut & Lime, Twice Baked Cauliflower from Cookin’ with Cyndi, Cheesecake with Apples and a Brulee Top from Creampuffs in Venice, Gruyere Apple Grilled Cheese from Just Braise, Baked Spaghetti Squash from Eating for One, Dill Pancakes from My Husband Cooks . Whew, I think I gained weight just by looking at pictures this week! […]


  6. A great way to eat pancakes 24/7. I would love to see your take on crepes (the snob’s version of pancakes). Are you up to the challenge?
    Lynne


  7. Crepes. I’m working up to them. I’ve made them once or twice to little success.


  8. That looks SO good. I might have to try it!



Leave a Reply

