h1

A French inspired St. Patrick’s Day: Bisquick & beer fried fish

March 14, 2007

IMG_7137.JPG
IMG_7045.JPG
IMG_7162.JPG
You know my husband is getting cocky when he tries to rumble with Betty Crocker. But that’s how I found him one recent evening: Staring, hard-eyed, at a box of her famous Bisquick.

“I will conquer you, Bisquick,” he might have said (but didn’t.)

Apparently this dramatic face off was inspired by one of our favorite fellow bloggers, Mimi, of French Kitchen in America. She recently challenged her readers to come up with recipes using the famous product — or, actually, any biscuit mix, including homemade — whether up-market or down-home. My husband, of course, couldn’t resist, and decided to take on the original and iconic cooking behemoth, Betty Crocker’s Bisquick.

… Hence, another evening when I come home to find disturbing evidence of his cooking obsession. Him and a box of Bisquick. About to cage match. Jeesh.

Problem is, I can’t complain too vociferously — or he won’t make me this Bisquick-and-beer battered fried fish again.

That’s right: After much thought, the husband determined to jettison the usual baking methodology and throw his Bisquick into hot oil — after first combining it with beer and throwing a fish around in it. The results are delectable, but sadly, extremely fattening. (Then again, who said fried fish was health food?)

The classic fried cod that exited our stove had the appropriate and amazing crunchy top coat, made slightly and delightfully sweet from the magic Bisquick formula. The fish inside was cooked perfectly — moist, tender and steaming. All the seasoning was spot on, and bonus: The husband also made some delicious curried tartar sauce to match. And, of course, he also made chips (for what is fish without chips?) … bringing the sum total calories and fat of the meal to near-record levels.

But nevermind about all that nutritional information business. The point is: It tastes good. And I think Betty Crocker would agree. But if I catch her alone with my husband again…

IMG_7005.JPG
IMG_7016.JPG
IMG_7096.JPG

Backgrounder…
It’s actually very true… I was staring at a box of Bisquick. It sat next to me one night while watching TV. In fact, I know way more about Bisquick than I did before — because you can’t help but read the nutritional information and ingredients when staring at the box. Aside from some surprising stuff on the side label (let’s just say this isn’t a low-fat or low-cal meal), what you learn very quickly is that it is simply a modified self-rising flour. Once I understood that, I realized I needed a theme and a concept. What good is an ingredient if it has no purpose?

It didn’t take me long to realize my theme would be Ireland. I know Mimi has French heritage and has great passion for that country, but this time of year is about Ireland and Saint Patrick. Unfortunately, Ireland, like its despised British cousin, hasn’t had a great culinary tradition until recently. So I began to imagine stews with drop biscuits and various other hearty fare.

Then it clicked. My wife and I were in Ireland a few years back, and I thought of one of the funniest sights on that trip. We were in Dublin, and my wife got fish and chips at this small chipper. In fact, the chipper was so small that there were no tables and it was all take away (notice the respect for the local lingo… not carry out like here in the States… it’s take away). She ordered haddock. The next thing I know, my wife is carrying around a huge hunk of fish. I’m pretty sure they just battered the whole filet and handed it to her. So, imagine her gnawing on a fried fish that is taken from a fish about as big as she is. It’s natural absurdist comedy. Thinking back on this, I knew wanted to make fish and chips.

The only hang-up was the breading. On most fried fish, the coating is just a flour with seasoning and leavener. I didn’t even need the leavener, since Bisquick gets you most of the way there. Plus, Bisquick has sugar and its own flavor. So I added some heat and dimension with paprika and cayenne, and used the beer to give it a bit more rise and flavor.

The results were impressive. I was shocked how well it worked. The Bisquick has a lightness in flavor that keeps the batter around the fish sweet. There is actually more depth of flavor than when I’ve made similar dishes with regular flour. So, I’m delighted to share this with you as it was great lesson for me.

Finally, there are a couple technical notes. First, after I decided to do this recipe, I caught an episode of America’s Test Kitchen doing a fish and chips episode. The show was very informative and I would highly recommend it (it’s a TiVo season pass for us). While I don’t use their recipe or even their breading technique, it did influence the choices I made, so I want to give a proper hats off to the folks at Cook’s Illustrated.

Second, I used an Irish red ale, Smithwick’s. It has a good depth of flavor. I suspect if you wanted to be even more Irish for the holiday, you could use Harp. However, I would stay away from Guinness or other dark stouts. I think the beautiful body and deep chocolate flavor would really undermine the lightness of the batter. Though, I would highly recommend drinking a Guinness with this.


IMG_7072.JPG
IMG_7116.JPG

IMG_7009.JPGIMG_7022.JPGIMG_7035.JPGIMG_7065.JPGIMG_7084.JPGIMG_7091.JPGIMG_7068.JPGIMG_7156.JPG

Bisquick & Beer Fried Fish
Ingredients:
1 1/2 lbs cod or other white fish
1 1/2 cups Bisquick
1 cup (8 oz.) beer (anything but a stout)
1 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. cayenne
1 tsp. salt
2 quarts oil for frying

Directions:
1. Add the oil to a large pot or Dutch oven and begin to heat to 350F. You do not want to fill more than two-thirds full as the fish will cause it to bubble up and potentially spill out. So do not overfill!

2. Lay the fish out and cut into 2-inch wide slices, except at the tail end where it tapers and gets thinner. Cut those into longer, 3-inch pieces.

3. In a large bowl, combine the Bisquick, paprika, cayenne, and salt. Whisk the mixture together until all the spices are integrated. Take 1/2 cup of the mixture and toss the cod in this to lightly coat. The coating should be no more than a dusting on the fish. This will help the wet batter adhere to the fish.

4. After the fish are dry coated, add about 3/4 of the beer to the remaining batter and mix. The remaining beer should be used to get to the right consistency. The batter should have no lumps and be relatively runny. Add a bit more beer as needed. Dip the fish in the batter and set aside until oil reaches temperature.

5. Once the oil reaches 350F, add the fish, starting with the large, thick pieces. Wait 1 minute and add the thin tail pieces. Cook for another 4 minutes. Depending on your pot, you will be able to cook all the fish at once. Watch the temperature; it will fall, so adjust your heat to build back up but don’t overheat.

6. Place the cooked fish on a rack or paper towels to drain and cool. Serve while still hot. Enjoy!

Quick Curried Tartar Sauce
Ingredients:
3/4 cup mayonnaise
2 tbsp. relish
1 1/2 tsp. curry powder
1/2 tsp. salt
pepper

Directions:
Mix the ingredients in a bowl. Season to taste. Cover and refrigerate until ready to use.

21 comments

  1. Oh man!, that looks good. I think that’ll be on this weekend’s menu.


  2. you might need a login for the nytimes, but last week harold mcgee did an article, and mentioned that vodka works well.


  3. Wish I could have a bite of this awesome fish. If I made this I’d eat the entire recipe.


  4. Wow! What a novel take on deep frying! I’m in the process of moving and my wife is forcing me to use everything in our pantry. Using bisquik to make a batter will floor her!

    Phil @ http://moveablefeast.wordpress.com


  5. This just looks incredibly good!!!


  6. See Tanya. See Tanya drool. Drool, Tanya, drool.


  7. A great nod to the Irish, and your pictures make me want to pull my own box of Bisquick out of the pantry right now! Damn the calories- full speed ahead!


  8. This looks absolutely delicious – I love fish and that crunchy crisp is wonderful!


  9. This looks so good (and making me think how great the onion rings would be) that I am seriously tempted to break my “no deep frying in the house” rule (I hate the smell and mess, plus we have four small animals that like to stand underfoot while I cook).


  10. what’s up with smithwicks being everywhere suddenly? are they pulling a stella on me and becoming mainstream? so weird… regardless, yeah, i’ll speak up and agree with everyone else, yeah, that looks GOOD.


  11. […] French-Inspired St. Patrick’s Day: Bisquick & beer fried fish over at My Husband Cooks […]


  12. That just looks outrageously good!


  13. Its being so nice since I have started visiting your site. This time I have started something of my own. We just introduced Kincafe- http://www.kincafe.com. This is for families to come together. I would like you for review of the service and provide feedback to andy@kincafe.com.

    Thank you
    Shelly


  14. Krusteaz pancake miz also makes an excellent breading for fried foods… try them on onion rings: very light and crispy!

    And congrats on your new pink blob!


  15. Followed your recipe but used Kirin beer= was a great meal- THANKS


  16. the pictures are lying over the ingredients list so I am not able to try out this great looking recipe.

    please correct the error, thank you.


  17. I look forward to trying this recipe. It looks delicious.
    To print out the entire recipe that is hidden behind the photo; highlight the visible letters to the left of the photo also. When you copy and paste it, it will print the entire recipe.


  18. This fried fish recipe sounds great…so looked at your stir fry. Are you aware that the photos are covering the recipes? Please fix or tell users how to remove pix from text. Thank you.


  19. […] of “beer battered cod” recipes. I finally gave in and followed the advice of this blogger. Instead of Smithwick’s, which they didn’t sell at the Hopkins Deli liquor store, I […]


  20. Can I simply just say what a comfort to find an individual who truly knows what they are discussing over the internet.
    You definitely realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More and more people should check this out and understand this side of your story.
    I can’t believe you’re not more popular because you most certainly possess the gift.


  21. I was very pleased to search out this internet-site.I needed to thanks for your time for this excellent read!! I positively having fun with every little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you weblog post.



Leave a comment